southernflyangler.com

Fly Fishing in the Southeastern US
It is currently Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Shad flies
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:34 am 
Brown Trout

Looks like I may have an opportunity to fish for Shad down on the Santee river this coming spring. I've no idea what to expect. I need some help on what flies I should attempt to tie before going. If any of you fellas have any experience fishing for shad and would be willing to suggest some flies I'd need I would really appreciate it.
Thanks,
Theron

Post subject: Re: Shad flies
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:26 am 
Brown Trout

One word....."Croaker" :D

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:46 am 
Brown Trout

Here's another word......"Croaker".

I'll see i I can dig up his Shad Fly pattern or pic, but if Don sees this, I'm sure he'll hook you up.

Yer Pal,
Streamer

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:27 pm 
Brook Trout

Wk, i'm no expert but i do fish for them every spring on the james. I use a sorta modified tommy's torpedo and just small clousers in bright colors. I'll take a pic of the torpedo tonight.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:16 pm 
Brown Trout

It works... as proven in my profile picture :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:28 pm 
Brown Trout

Even I have managed to catch shad with shad darts. Croaker's recipe is as good as they get -- I used it with tremendous success.

I ended up tying mine on a 90 degree hook. I would have preferred a 60 degree bend in the hook but only because that is what most everyone else seems to use. Still, I caught so many fish that my hooks bent but I kept fishing them to keep some challenge in the game. (I can count on one finger, starting with this outing, the number of times that has happened).

Best of luck.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:10 pm 
Brown Trout

Is that a mono weedgaurd on Croaker's shadfly?

Thanks for the info fellas.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:14 pm 
Brown Trout

windknotter wrote: